GEORGIA HIGH SCHOOL ASSOCIATION

MINUTES

STATE RECLASSIFICATION COMMITTEE

November 18, 2015

A meeting of the 2015-16 State Reclassification Committee of the Georgia High School Association was called to order at 9:00 a.m., on November 18, 2015, at the Thomaston-Upson County Civic Center by President Glenn White to hear appeals from schools wishing a waiver of the rule that calls for a move up in classification for schools with more than 3% out-of-county enrollment.

Attendance was as follows: Present - 14 Absent - 0

Kevin Giddens	Earl Etheridge	Wayne Tootle	J.T. Pollock	Tim Vick	Donnie Drew
Dave Hunter	Tommy Stringer	Horace Dunson	J.B. Arnold	Jesse Crews	Bruce Potts
Glenn White	Lisa Moore Williams				

Carror Wright gave the invocation, and Vice President Lisa Moore Williams led the pledge of allegiance to the flag.

Motion by Etheridge, second by Crews to take a proposal to the full committee in January to ask for a by-law change whereby single gender schools would have their out-of-county student percentage based on their doubled enrollment and not their actual enrollment. **Motion Passed** (14-0)

Committee Chair Etheridge then called for each appeal to be discussed and set a 15-minute time limit per speaker.

Armuchee High School – Principal James Burris presented the appeal for a waiver of the 3% out-of-county rule. Motion to approve by Etheridge, second by Crews. Motion Passed (12-1-1; Hunter voting no and White abstaining)

- Bleckley County High School Athletic Director Benjy Rogers presented the appeal for a waiver of the 3% out-of-county rule. Motion to approve by White, second by Arnold. Motion Passed (14-0)
- Bremen High School Principal Tim Huff presented the appeal for a waiver of the 3% out-of-county rule. Motion to deny by Vick, second by Pollock. Motion To Deny Passed (12-1-1; White voting no and Arnold abstaining)

Early County High School – Assistant Principal Jay Winkler presented the appeal for a waiver of the 3% out-of-county rule. Motion to approve by White, second by Williams. Motion Passed (14-0)

East Laurens High School – Principal Eddie Morris presented the appeal for a waiver of the 3% out-of-county rule. Motion to approve by Arnold, second by White. **Motion Passed** (14-0)

Heard County High School – Athletic Director Shane Lasseter presented the appeal for a waiver of the 3% out-of-county rule. Motion to approve by Tootle, second by Arnold. Motion Passed (14-0)

Jeff Davis High School – Superintendent Rob Brown presented the appeal for a waiver of the 3% out-of-county rule. Motion to approve by Hunter, second by Crews. Motion Passed (14-0)

Manchester High School – Athletic Director Greg Oglesby presented the appeal for a waiver of the 3% out-of-county rule. Motion to approve by Tootle, second by Giddens. Motion Passed (14-0)

Social Circle High School – Principal Carrie Booher presented the appeal for a waiver of the 3% out-of-county rule. Motion to approve by Giddens, second by Crews. Motion Passed (14-0)

Riverside Military Academy – Athletic Director Marc Paglia presented the appeal for a waiver of the 3% out-of-county rule. Motion to deny by Hunter, second by White. **Motion To Deny Passed** (14-0)

- **Thomasville High School** Principal Todd Mobley presented the appeal for a waiver of the 3% out-of-county rule. Motion to approve by Hunter, second by Giddens. **Motion Passed** (14-0)
- Swainsboro High School Assistant Principal Jansen Ware presented the appeal for a waiver of the 3% out-of-county rule. Motion to approve by Williams, second by White. Motion Passed (14-0)
- Vidalia High School Superintendent Garrett Wilcox presented the appeal for a waiver of the 3% out-of-county rule. Motion to approve by Giddens, second by Crews. Motion Passed (10-2-1; Hunter and Arnold voting no, Etheridge abstaining)
- **Thomas County Central** Athletic Director Sam Holland presented the appeal for a waiver of the 3% out-of-county rule. Motion to approve by Tootle, second by Crews. **Motion Passed** (13-0-1; Giddens abstaining)
- Crisp County High School Superintendent David Mimbs presented the appeal for a waiver of the 3% out-of-county rule. Motion to approve by Tootle, second by Stringer. Motion Passed (14-0)
- **Cook High School** Principal Keith Croft presented the appeal for a waiver of the 3% out-of-county rule. Motion to approve by Arnold, second by Stringer. **Motion Passed** (14-0)
- Lumpkin County High School Principal Rick Conner presented the appeal to adjust his school's FTE numbers. Motion to accept the FTE numbers turned into the state by Etheridge, second by Crew. Motion Passed (14-0)

Having no more appeals, the committee then undertook the task of dividing the classifications. After much discussion, it was decided to call the classifications Class A through Class AAAAAA (7A) and the dividing lines were set for each. Motion to approve the new classifications by Etheridge, second by Hunter. **Motion Passed** (14-0)

Motion by White, second by Giddens to adjourn. Motion Passed (14-0)