## GEORGIA HIGH SCHOOL ASSOCIATION

### **MINUTES**

# STATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE October 16, 2013

A special called meeting of the State Executive Committee of the Georgia High School Association was called to order at 10:30 a.m. on October 16, 2013, at the GHSA Office in Thomaston, Georgia, by Dr. Gary Holmes, President.

The invocation was given by Dr. Ralph Swearngin, Executive Director.

Roll call by Steve Figueroa, Media Director, showed the following: Present - 53 Absent - 5 (indicated by **AB** beside name below)

Kevin Giddens	Earl Etheridge	David Brooks	Dexter Wood	Alan Ingram	Lisa Williams
John Reynolds	Curt Miller	Jasper Jewell	Joe Lancaster	Jesse Crews	Pat Blenke
Evan Horton	Don Breedlove	Craig Parrott	Todd Mobley	Britt Ingle	Tony Arasi - AB
Donnie Griggers	Phil McCrary	Tracy Sanford	Michael Thompson	Glenn Tidwell	Bill Truby
Steve Jones	Don Corr	J. T. Pollock	Marvin Fields	Scott Queen	Rudy Hampton
Milo Mathis	Tommy Stringer	Chad Campbell	Benjy Rogers	Bob Stinchcomb	Terry Rogers
Gary Long	Wayne Tootle	J.B. Arnold	Greg Oglesby	Larry Campbell - AB	Lucia Norwood
Dave Hunter	Jim Finch	Jeff Beggs	Rusty Hudson	Donnie Drew	Gary Holmes
Kevin Dowling	Steve Nobles	Bruce Potts	Glenn White	Maria Bradley - AB	Walter Wade - AB
Michelle Masters	Eddie Payne - AB	Carter Wilson	Jim Hughes		

### **APPOINTMENTS**

Motion was made by Dave Hunter, seconded by Glenn White, and unanimously approved to go into Executive Session to hear student eligibility appeals. (NOTE: Presentations were made in Executive Session; all votes were taken while not in Executive Session. For clarity, outcome of vote is given after each statement of presentation.)

**Dunwoody High School -** Chan English, AD, presented the appeal for student Wilfried Ouedragoo, requesting a waiver of the eightsemester rule.

Motion by Wayne Tootle, second by Donnie Griggers, to approve the appeal for the 2013-14 school year only.

MOTION PASSED (Roll Call Vote #1 - Yes: 51, No - 2)

No: Dave Hunter and Tommy Stringer.

North Atlanta High School - Doug Britten, AD, presented the appeal for student Dion Patterson, requesting a waiver of the eightsemester rule.

**Motion** by Jesse Crews, second by Tommy Stringer, to deny the appeal.

**MOTION PASSED** (unanimously)

#### COMMITTEE REPORT

(Committee reports constitute motions by Chairman of the Committee, no seconds are required.

**BOARD OF TRUSTEES:** 

Report presented by Wayne Tootle

The Committee **RECOMMENDED**:

1. That Gary Phillips be named Executive Director of the Georgia High School Association beginning on July 1, 2014.

**MOTION PASSED** (unanimously)

Motion by Wayne Tootle, second by Glenn White, to adjourn the meeting.

MOTION PASSED (unanimously)