
 

 

May 2016 Study Guide 
 

Okay, lets get to April 2016 Study Guide answers. Some of you had 
concerns about my math on question 7 but I ran it by several smarter guys 
and they all checked it out. Even ran it by George Demetriou, editor of the 
Reddings Guide, and he concurred.  April 2016 answers: 
 
1.  D. The kick went out of bounds untouched by R. The apparent touch by  
         R70 is ignored as it was forced. Multiple options exist. 
2.  B  Referee 
3.  C  Remember this is a fifteen (15) yard penalty 
4.  E  C and D are true. Complex play. Obviously A and B false.  
5.  A  True 
6.  B  K is guilty of free kick out of bounds untouched by R. The kick is out  
     of bounds because it touched a player out of bounds.  
7.  A  Many emailed to complain about this one. I initially was concerned 
     about my math but double checked it. Reddings editor George Demetriou  
     confirmed the math and agreed that A is the only FALSE answer.  
8.  A  True. The ball has touched the ground. 
9.  A  True. This is a fifteen yard penalty. 
10. A True.  
 
OPINION PLAY:  
96.4% had this as a touchback. 0.001% had a penalty on the play and A ball 
at the B two yard line. ?? Penalty??  Rest had safety. This play is directly 
from Reddings 2015 NFHS Guide, page 131, example 8. Here, Mr. 
Demetriou has this play as a SAFETY and it caught my attention. My 
thinking this was a touchback- forced touching, etc.  After several emails he 
has changed his answer but not due to forced touching. Obviously the initial 
force of the fumble by A has been spent. Applying the rules of physics, not 
football, the action that took the ball into the end zone was the action by 
B91. But, according to rules of football, a new force CANNOT come from a 
block. This would still be a touchback even if B91 had blocked his on player 
into the ball. Review 8-5-1 on force creation. Blocks are not mentioned.   
 
New questions: 
 
 
 
11. Under NFHS rules a face mask is mandatory equipment. 



 

 

  A. True 
  B. False 
 
12. Which of the following are legal equipment: 
  A. Knee braces worn over the pants 
  B. Tinted eye shields 
  C. Eye shades with John 3:16 written in the middle 
  D. Sun glasses 
  E. Play cards worn on the belt 
 
13. Defensive back B15 and receiver A7 both simultaneously catch a legal 
      forward pass at the back of the end zone. B15 lands on the end line and  
      A7 lands in the end zone. Both maintain possession falling to the  
      ground. This is an incomplete pass. 
  A. True 
  B. False 
 
14. Team A breaks the huddle and is in formation when it is observed two  
      running backs both have number 24. This does not become a foul until  
      a legal snap and the down is in progress.  
  A. True 
  B. False 
 
15. Team A head coach may use an I- pad in a team conference outside the  
      nine yard markers. 
  A. True  
  B. False 
 
16. Which statement is FALSE concerning the free blocking zone: 
  A. An offensive lineman must be on the line of scrimmage at  
                         the snap and in the free blocking zone to be eligible to block  
                         below the waist.   
  B. In order for a block below the waist to be legal both the  
                         blocker and the player being blocked must be on the line of  
                         scrimmage and both the players and the ball be in the free  
                         blocking zone. 
  C. Wing back A12 goes in motion and is in the free blocking  
                        zone at the snap. Quarterback A10 is under center. 
                        Immediately at the snap A12 blocks B67 who is on the line of  
                        scrimmage and in the free blocking zone in the back.  



 

 

                        This  is legal.  
 
17. R25 muffs a free kick at the R10 yard line. R25 picks up the ball at the  
      R1 yard line and momentum takes him into the end zone where he is  
      tackled by K65.  
  A. This is a safety. 
  B. This is a touchback and R ball at R20 yard line 
  C. It is Team R ball at the R1.  
 
18. A24 fumbles while advancing towards B goal line at the B4. The ball  
      rolls into the end zone. B43 picks up the ball and attempts to advance  
      but is downed. The ball never left the end zone. During B43 attempted  
      advance B78 blocks A24 in the back at B6 yard line. The penalty is  
      accepted.  
  A. This play results in a safety. 
  B. First and ten for Team B at the B3 yard line 
  C. First and ten for Team B at the B 10 yard line 
 
19. The game is tied in the fourth quarter with three seconds left. The clock  
      is stopped due to a runner going out of bounds on the previous play. A13  
      passes into the end zone where B6 intercepts and immediately goes to  
      the ground. Time expires during the down. After the play is over A13  
      swings at and misses B6. Which statement is FALSE: 
  A. If Team B accepts the penalty they will snap the ball at the  
                         B20 for an untimed down. 
  B. Regulation time is over and there will be overtime  
                         regardless of the acceptance of the penalty.  
  C. A13 is ejected. 
  D. The overtime period will begin with a fifteen yard penalty  
                          against Team A.  
 
20. B45 enters the field during the down but does not participate. This is  
      enforced from the succeeding spot. 
  A. True 
  B. False  
 
 
21. During a goal line stand B45 is replaced by B79 but leaves the field out  
      the end line. The crew should allow the snap and play continue and  
      enforce from the succeeding spot. 



 

 

  A. True 
  B. False 
 
22. Defensive back B21 intercepts near the sideline. Receiver A86, the  
      intended target, then inadvertently steps out of bounds just prior to  
      making the tackle and downing B21. This is illegal participation. 
  A. True 
  B. False 
 
23. A12, under pressure, breaks from the pocket and throws a backward  
      pass to stop the clock. This is intentional grounding.   
  A. True 
  B. False 
 
24. The snapper can be an eligible receiver.  
  A. True 
  B. False 
 
25. Team A is illegally in motion at the snap on second down.  A12  
       completes a pass to A88 who then fumbles near the sideline. There is an  
       inadvertent whistle after the fumble while the ball is loose with B  
       recovering the fumble after the whistle. Regardless of acceptance or  
       declining of the penalty Team A will next snap the ball.  
  A. True 
  B. False 
 
OPINION PLAY: George Demetriou will be our arbiter on this play as he 
was in April. Email your answer to me: belindaandrick@gmail.com 
 
A24 is a slot receiver and is flanked by A89 who is on the line of scrimmage. 
A24 is set after the huddle is broken and satisfied all inside nine yard marker 
requirements prior to ready for play. He then steps forward to the line of 
scrimmage, sets and pauses for several seconds. His next action is to go in 
motion towards his tackle A75 remaining on the line of scrimmage at the 
snap. Legal or illegal motion? 
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