GEORGIA HIGH SCHOOL ASSOCIATION

MINUTES

STATE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE May 4, 2022

A meeting of the State Executive Committee of the Georgia High School Association was called to order at 10:00 a.m., on May 4, 2022, at the Marriott Macon City Center by Jim Finch, President.

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Vice President Curt Miller. The invocation was given by Carror Wright, Associate Director. Roll call showed the following: Present - 62, Absent - 10 (indicated by "A" below)

Danny Redshaw - A
Evan Horton
Don Baker
Jason Dopson
Matt Moody
Nathan Turner
Kirk Barton
Scarlett Grantham
Jason Brett
Steve Waters
Cedric King

Todd Mooney
Willie Cannon
Tonya Sebring
Steven Craft
Brad Hayes
Garrett Black - A
Kelli Smith
Mindy Johnson
James Jackson
Rendell Jackson
Peter Giles

Darrell Demastus
Jeff Segars
Jeff Battles
Marty Shiver
Brooke Whitlock - A
Shane Ratliff
Charles Battles
Bobby Brewington
Jarred Griffis
Michael Dowis
Jeremy Rayburn

James Stanford Shawn Peek Felecia Colquitt Jasper Jewell Ronnie Massey Paul Standard Eli Connell Cleve Edwards Kevin Grooms Von Lassiter Jesse Crews Myron Newton Brian Montgomery Joshua Moore Barry Williams Kevin Petroski Michael Thompson Roger Holmes - sub Randy Cooper - A Tim Gribben - A Richard Ricketts Brad Dehem Rick Hurst Brian Turner - A David Bell Don Tison Bradley Warren - A Eli Dupree Don Norton Josh Kemp - A Chad Jordan Steve Simpson Michelle Masters

Regina Montgomery Richard Woods - A Justin Pauly - sub Jason Miller Kevin Yancey Craig Davis - A Joe Sanfilippo Curt Miller Jim Finch

Motion was made by Jewell, seconded by Horton, and unanimously approved to adopt the agenda for the meeting.

NEW BUSINESS:

- 1. Assistant Executive Director Ernie Yarbrough presented special officiating awards, including an NFHS lifetime achievement award to Bob Earwood, who officiated for 44 years and has worked with the GHSA in several areas for 46 years.
- 2. Proposal to add a second private school member to the Board of Trustees by modifying Section 3, item "A" on page 8 of the Constitution as follows (new text in italic, old text struck out): Membership of the Board of Trustees shall be composed of the President, Vice President and Executive Director, plus one member from each classification (as selected by a vote of the SEC representatives in that respective classification) and a total of three (3) four (4) at-large members (two (2) three (3) of which shall be appointed by the BOT) that must include at least two (2) females and one (1) two (2) private school representatives, and all three four must be approved by a vote of the State Executive Committee. (GHSA Office) NOTE: This is a Constitutional change and requires two (2) votes. This is the second vote, as the proposal was unanimously approved by the Board of Trustees on March 16, 2022.
 MOTION PASSED (unanimously)
- 3. **Proposal** to modify paragraph "d" of by-law 1.41 on page 15 of the Constitution as follows (new text in italic, old text struck out): The GHSA requires that member schools use the latest 2018 edition of the preparticipation physical evaluation form approved by the American Academy of Pediatrics, et. al., Found on the GHSA web site. NOTE: Member schools having already done physicals for the 2022-23 school year need not repeat the evaluations. (GHSA Office) **Motion** by Crews, second by Waters, to approve the proposal. **MOTION PASSED (unanimously)**
- Proposal to delete paragraph "b" of by-law 1.47 on page 16 of the Constitution and replace with the following text: A student's sex is determined by the sex noted on his/her certificate at birth. (GHSA Office)
 Motion by Grantham, second by Demastus, to approve the proposal.
 MOTION PASSED (unanimously)
- 5. Executive Committee members of each classification, and the "at large" members, met in separate groups to vote on their respective choices to sit on the new Board of Trustees for the 2022-24 reclassification cycle. Below are the results (with the vote totals in parenthesis):

Class 7A - Nathan Turner (6-0) Class 6A - Steven Craft (8-0) Class 5A - Kelli Smith (6-0) Class 4A - Jeff Battles (5-2) Class 3A - Jasper Jewell (8-0) Class 2A - Brian Montgomery (5-3)
Class A, Div. 1 - Mike Thompson (5-0)
Class A, Div. 2 - Steve Simpson (6-0)
At-Large - Michelle Masters (4-0)

(more)

Minutes - May 4, 2022 Page -2-

6. There was a brief meeting of the newly selected members of the Board of Trustees to make their at-large nominations to be submitted to the full committee.

Motion by Craft, second by Finch, to nominate Jose Fernandez (Woodward), Regina Montgomery (McEachern) and Kevin Petroski (Athens Academy) to be at-large members on the Board of Trustees.

MOTION PASSED (unanimously)

Proposal to the full Executive Committee to approve all the newly-selected members of the Board of Trustees.
 Motion by Craft, second by Waters, to approve the proposal.
 MOTION PASSED (unanimously)

DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Hines reminded the committee of the Student Leadership Conference on May 6 and then gave a brief summary of what happened to affect the GHSA during the recent legislative session. "We wound up with an oversight committee, which I support," said Hines. "I think communication back and forth is a good, good thing."

He also urged all the committee members, especially the 25 newly-elected ones, to make contact with their local representatives and develop a relationship with them so they better understand how the GHSA operates.

Hines closed by reminding the committee that the GHSA had committed to waiving membership dues for the third straight year, adding that the office will be sending a check to all members schools for at least the amount they would have paid in dues.

Motion by Horton, second by Demastus, to adjourn the meeting.

MOTION PASSED (unanimously)