2016-2017 Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Awards Announced

Georgia’s Electric Membership Cooperatives (Georgia’s EMCs) proudly sponsor the Georgia High School Association Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award and today announce the 56 GHSA-member high schools that will receive the 2017 award. The award honors schools that demonstrated exemplary sportsmanship during the 2016-2017 school year.

“Congratulations to all of the region winners of the GHSA Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award for 2016-2017,” says Dr. Robin Hines, GHSA Executive Director. “It is an honor for these member schools to be selected by their regions for this award. The characteristics of good sportsmanship are critical to the development of our young people as they transition into productive adults. The GHSA applauds our schools on this accomplishment and appreciates Georgia’s EMCs for their support of this outstanding recognition program.”

Since 2006, the GHSA and Georgia’s EMCs have sponsored the Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award which reinforces the GHSA philosophy: “Students, athletes, coaches, spectators and all others associated with high school activities programs should adhere to the fundamental values of respect, fairness, honesty and responsibility.” Schools around the state are honored for exhibiting exceptional sportsmanship during competitive events.

Student athletes, fellow students, school staff, parents and event spectators are recognized for the sportsmanship they display. The award is not only a school honor, but a community honor as well. The GHSA region secretaries select winners based upon sportsmanship demonstrated throughout the school year.

Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Awards are presented annually to the GHSA-member high schools in the 56 regions from the seven classifications by representatives from the EMCs during fall athletic events and school assemblies.  Winners of the 2017 Georgia EMC Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award are: 


Region Winners:

Class 7-A                                     

Region-1 – Lowndes High School

Region-2 – Campbell High School

Region-3 – Hillgrove High School

Region-4 – Lassiter High School

Region-5 – Forsyth Central High School

Region-6 – Mountain View High School

Region-7 – Meadowcreek High School

Region-8 – Archer High School


Class 6-A                                     

Region-1 – Coffee High School

Region-2 – Bradwell Institute

Region-3 – Heritage (Conyers) High School

Region-4 – Forest Park High School

Region-5 – Tri-Cities High School

Region-6 – Harrison High School

Region-7 – Pope High School

Region-8 – Apalachee High School


Class 5-A

Region-1 – Thomas County Central High School

Region-2 – Statesboro High School

Region-3 – Fayette County High School

Region-4 – Hampton High School

Region-5 – Chamblee High School

Region-6 – Riverwood High School

Region-7 – Cass High School

Region-8 – Johnson (Gainesville) High School


Class 4-A

Region-1 – Americus-Sumter High School

Region-2 – Upson-Lee High School

Region-3 – Richmond Academy

Region-4 – Salem High School

Region-5 – Central Carrollton High School

Region-6 – Southeast Whitfield High School

Region-7 – Chestatee High School

Region-8 – St. Pius X High School


Class 3-A

Region-1 – Worth County High School

Region-2 – Tattnall County High School

Region-3 – Savannah High School

Region-4 – Peach County High School

Region-5 – McNair High School

Region-6 – Lakeview-Ft. Oglethorpe High School

Region-7 – Union County High School

Region-8 – Monroe Area High School


Class 2-A

Region-1 - Thomasville High School

Region-2 – Bacon County High School

Region-3 – Bleckley County High School

Region-4 – Jefferson County High School

Region-5 – Heard County High School

Region-6 – South Atlanta High School

Region-7 – Gordon Central High School

Region-8 – Banks County High School


Class A

Region-1 – Webster County High School

Region-2 – Clinch County High School

Region-3 - Jenkins County High School

Region-4 – Dooly County High School

Region-5 – Galloway School

Region-6 – Christian Heritage School

Region-7 – Lake Oconee Academy

Region-8 – Providence Christian School


The Georgia High School Association is a voluntary, non-profit organization composed of over 460 public and private high schools.  The GHSA administers regulations for region and state competition in 17 sports and two activities.  Founded in 1904, the GHSA strives to promote good sportsmanship, participant safety and fair play among its member schools. For more information visit www.ghsa.net.

Georgia EMC is the statewide trade association representing the state’s 41 EMCs, Oglethorpe Power Corp., Georgia Transmission Corp. and Georgia System Operations Corp. Collectively, Georgia’s customer-owned EMCs provide electricity and related services to 4.4 million people, nearly half of Georgia’s population, across 73 percent of the state’s land area

Share this