2018-2019 Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Awards Announced

Georgia’s Electric Membership Cooperatives (EMCs) proudly sponsor the Georgia High School Association (GHSA) Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award and today announce the 56 GHSA-member high schools that will receive this year’s award. The award honors schools that demonstrated impeccable sportsmanship during the 2018-2019 school year.

“Congratulations to all of the region winners of the GHSA Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award for 2018-2019,” says Dr. Robin Hines, GHSA executive director. “It is an honor for these member schools to be selected by their regions for this award. The characteristics of good sportsmanship are critical to the development of our young people as they transition into productive adults. The GHSA applauds our schools on this accomplishment and appreciates Georgia’s EMCs for their support of this outstanding recognition program.”

Since 2006, the GHSA and Georgia’s EMCs have sponsored the Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award which reinforces the GHSA philosophy: “Students, athletes, coaches, spectators and all others associated with high school activities programs should adhere to the fundamental values of respect, fairness, honesty and responsibility.” Schools winning this award are thus honored for displaying exemplary sportsmanship during competition throughout the school year.

Student athletes, fellow students, school staff, parents and event spectators are recognized for the sportsmanship they display. The award is not only a school honor, but a community honor as well. The GHSA region secretaries select winners based upon sportsmanship demonstrated throughout the school year.

Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Awards are presented annually to the GHSA-member high schools in the 56 regions from the seven classifications by EMC representatives during fall athletic events and school assemblies.  Winners of the 2018-2019 GHSA Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award to be presented by Georgia’s EMCs are: 

Class 7A
Region 1 – Lowndes High School

Region 2 – Newnan High School

Region 3 – North Cobb High School

Region 4 – Woodstock High School

Region 5 – North Forsyth High School

Region 6 – Collins Hill High School

Region 7 – Berkmar High School

Region 8 – Shiloh High School

Class 6A
Region 1 – Northside (Warner Robins) High School

Region 2 – Richmond Hill High School

Region 3 – Heritage (Conyers) High School

Region 4 – Charles Drew High School

Region 5 – Northgate High School

Region 6 – River Ridge High School

Region 7 – Cambridge High School

Region 8 – Apalachee High School


Class 5A

Region 1 – Thomas County Central High School

Region 2 – Wayne County High School

Region 3 – Jonesboro High School

Region 4 – Union Grove High School

Region 5 – Clarkston High School

Region 6 – Decatur High School

Region 7 – Woodland (Cartersville) High School

Region 8 – Buford High School


Class 4A

Region 1 – Westover High School

Region 2 – West Laurens High School

Region 3 – Burke County High School

Region 4 – North Clayton High School

Region 5 – Troup County High School

Region 6 – Heritage (Catoosa) High School

Region 7 – Blessed Trinity High School

Region 8 – North Oconee High School


Class 3A

Region 1 – Monroe Area High School

Region 2 – Liberty County High School

Region 3 – Southeast Bulloch High School

Region 4 – Westside (Macon) High School

Region 5 – Pace Academy

Region 6 – Coahulla Creek High School

Region 7 – Cherokee Bluff High School

Region 8 – Hart County High School


Class 2A

Region 1 – Berrien County High School

Region 2 – St. Vincent’s Academy

Region 3 – Northeast High School

Region 4 – Westside (Augusta) High School

Region 5 – Callaway High School

Region 6 – Frederick Douglass High School

Region 7 – Dade County High school

Region 8 – Monticello High School


Class A

Region 1 – Seminole County High School

Region 2 – Echols County High School

Region 3 – Johnson County High School

Region 4 – Crawford County High School

Region 5 – Atlanta International School

Region 6 – The Walker School

Region 7 – Glascock County High School

Region 8 – Providence Christian Academy


The GHSA is a voluntary, non-profit organization comprised of more than 460 public and private high schools that strives to promote good sportsmanship, participant safety, fair play and a cooperative spirit among its member schools. The GHSA administers regulations for region and state competition in 18 sports and three activities. For more information, visit www.ghsa.net.

Georgia EMC is the statewide trade association representing the state’s 41 EMCs, Oglethorpe Power Corp., Georgia Transmission Corp. and Georgia System Operations Corp. Collectively, Georgia’s customer-owned EMCs provide electricity and related services to 4.4 million people, nearly half of Georgia’s population, across 73 percent of the state’s land area. To learn more, visit www.georgiaemc.com and follow Georgia EMC on Facebook and Twitter.

Share this