2019-2020 Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Awards Announced

2019-2020 Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Awards Sponsored by Georgia’s EMCs Announced by the GHSA

Georgia’s Electric Membership Cooperatives (EMCs) proudly sponsor the Georgia High School Association Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award and today announce the 56 GHSA-member high schools that will receive this year’s award. The award honors schools that demonstrated impeccable sportsmanship during the 2019-2020 school year.

“Congratulations to all of the region winners of the GHSA Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award for 2019-2020,” says Dr. Robin Hines, GHSA executive director. “It is an honor for these member schools to be selected by their regions for this award. The characteristics of good sportsmanship are critical to the development of our young people as they transition into productive adults. The GHSA applauds our schools on this accomplishment and appreciates Georgia’s EMCs for their support of this outstanding recognition program.”

Since 2006, the GHSA and Georgia’s EMCs have sponsored the Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award which reinforces the GHSA philosophy: “Students, athletes, coaches, spectators and all others associated with high school activities programs should adhere to the fundamental values of respect, fairness, honesty and responsibility.” Schools winning this award are thus honored for displaying exemplary sportsmanship during competition throughout the school year.

Student athletes, fellow students, school staff, parents and event spectators are recognized for the sportsmanship they display. The award is not only a school honor, but a community honor as well. The GHSA region secretaries select winners based upon sportsmanship demonstrated throughout the school year.

Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Awards are presented annually to the GHSA-member high schools in the 56 regions from the seven classifications by EMC representatives during fall athletic events and school assemblies.  Winners of the 2019-2020 GHSA Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award to be presented by Georgia’s EMCs are: 

Class 7A
Region 1 – Colquitt County High School

Region 2 – Wheeler High School
Region 3 – Hillgrove High School
Region 4 – Roswell High School
Region 5 – Lambert High School
Region 6 – Duluth High School
Region 7 – Parkview High School
Region 8 – Rockdale County High School

Class 6A
Region 1 – Coffee High School
Region 2 – Effingham County High School
Region 3 – Evans High School
Region 4 – Mundy’s Mill High School
Region 5 – Northgate High School
Region 6 – Osborne High School
Region 7 – Chattahoochee High School
Region 8 – Habersham Central High School

Class 5A
Region 1 – Warner Robins High School
Region 2 – Ware County High School
Region 3 – McIntosh High School
Region 4 – Eagle’s Landing High School
Region 5 – Arabia Mountain High School
Region 6 – Riverwood International Charter School
Region 7 – Woodland (Cartersville) High School
Region 8 – Johnson (Gainesville) High School

Class 4A
Region 1 – Americus-Sumter High School
Region 2 – West Laurens High School
Region 3 – Thomson High School
Region 4 – McDonough High School
Region 5 – Central (Carroll) High School
Region 6 – Pickens High School
Region 7 – West Hall High School
Region 8 – Madison County High School

Class 3A
Region 1 – Monroe (Albany) High School
Region 2 – Long County High School
Region 3 – Benedictine Military School
Region 4 – Rutland High School
Region 5 – Cedar Grove High School
Region 6 – Ringgold High School
Region 7 – Fannin County High School
Region 8 – Morgan County High School

Class 2A
Region 1 – Early County High School
Region 2 – Metter High School
Region 3 – East Laurens High School
Region 4 – Butler High School
Region 5 – Heard County High School
Region 6 – Therrell High School
Region 7 – Coosa High school
Region 8 – Social Circle High School

Class A
Region 1 – Pelham High School
Region 2 – Atkinson County High School
Region 3 – Claxton High School
Region 4 – Marion County High School
Region 5 – Our Lady of Mercy Catholic High School
Region 6 – Trion High School
Region 7 – Georgia Military College
Region 8 – Tallulah Falls School


The GHSA is a voluntary, non-profit organization comprised of more than 460 public and private high schools that strives to promote good sportsmanship, participant safety, fair play and a cooperative spirit among its member schools. The GHSA administers regulations for region and state competition in 20 sports and three activities. For more information, visit www.ghsa.net.

Georgia EMC is the statewide trade association representing the state’s 41 EMCs, Oglethorpe Power Corp., Georgia Transmission Corp. and Georgia System Operations Corp. Collectively, Georgia’s customer-owned EMCs provide electricity and related services to 4.4 million people, nearly half of Georgia’s population, across 73 percent of the state’s land area. To learn more, visit www.georgiaemc.com and follow Georgia EMC on Facebook and Twitter.

Share this