2020-2021 Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Awards Announced

Georgia’s Electric Membership Cooperatives (EMCs) proudly sponsor the Georgia High School Association (GHSA) Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award and today announce the 64 GHSA-member high schools that will receive this year’s award. The award honors schools that demonstrated impeccable sportsmanship during the 2020-2021 school year.

“Congratulations to all of the region winners of the GHSA Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award for 2020-2021,” says Dr. Robin Hines, GHSA executive director. “It is an honor for these member schools to be selected by their regions for this award. The characteristics of good sportsmanship are critical to the development of our young people as they transition into productive adults. The GHSA applauds our schools on this accomplishment and appreciates Georgia’s EMCs for their support of this outstanding recognition program.”

Since 2006, the GHSA and Georgia’s EMCs have sponsored the Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award which reinforces the GHSA philosophy: “Students, athletes, coaches, spectators and all others associated with high school activities programs should adhere to the fundamental values of respect, fairness, honesty and responsibility.” Schools winning this award are thus honored for displaying exemplary sportsmanship during competition throughout the school year.

Student athletes, fellow students, school staff, parents and event spectators are recognized for the sportsmanship they display. The award is not only a school honor, but a community honor as well. The GHSA region secretaries select winners based upon sportsmanship demonstrated throughout the school year.

Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Awards are presented annually to the GHSA-member high schools in the 64 regions from the eight classifications by EMC representatives during fall athletic events and school assemblies.  Winners of the 2020-2021 GHSA Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award presented by Georgia’s EMCs are: 

Class AAAAAAA (7A)
Region 1 – Tift County High School

Region 2 – East Coweta High School
Region 3 – North Cobb High School
Region 4 – South Gwinnett High School
Region 5 – Roswell High School
Region 6 – North Forsyth High School
Region 7 – Duluth High School
Region 8 – Peachtree Ridge High School

Class AAAAAA (6A)
Region 1 – Lee County High School

Region 2 – Glynn Academy
Region 3 – Evans High School
Region 4 – Westlake High School
Region 5 – Paulding County High School
Region 6 – Kennesaw Mountain High School
Region 7 – Riverwood High School
Region 8 – Dacula High School

Class AAAAA (5A)
Region 1 – Veterans High School

Region 2 – McIntosh High School
Region 3 – Mundy’s Mill High School
Region 4 – Stockbridge High School
Region 5 – Lithonia High School
Region 6 – Grady High School
Region 7 – Hiram High School
Region 8 – Clarke Central High School

Class AAAA (4A)
Region 1 – Bainbridge High School

Region 2 – Jordan High School
Region 3 – New Hampstead High School
Region 4 – Westside High School (Macon)
Region 5 – McDonough High School
Region 6 – Marist School
Region 7 – Cedartown High School
Region 8 – Chestatee High School

Class AAA (3A)
Region 1 – Tattnall County High School

Region 2 – Mary Persons High School
Region 3 – Liberty County High School
Region 4 – Morgan County High School
Region 5 – Greater Atlanta Christian School
Region 6 – Coahulla Creek High School
Region 7 – West Hall High School
Region 8 – East Jackson High School

Class AA (2A)
Region 1 – Cook County High School

Region 2 – Bacon County High School
Region 3 – Bleckley County High School
Region 4 – Putnam County High School
Region 5 – Callaway High School
Region 6 – Kipp Atlanta Collegiate
Region 7 – Gordon Central High School
Region 8 – Union County High School

Class A Public
Region 1 – Seminole County High School

Region 2 – Charlton County High School
Region 3 – Portal County High School
Region 4 – Dooly County High School
Region 5 – Schley County High School
Region 6 – Armuchee High School
Region 7 – Warren County High School
Region 8 – Greene County High School

Class A Private
Region 1 – Deerfield-Windsor School

Region 2 – Whitefield Academy
Region 3 – Aquinas High School
Region 4 – Brookstone School
Region 5 – Atlanta International School
Region 6 – Mount Bethel Christian Academy
Region 7 – The Walker School
Region 8 – Tallulah Falls School


The GHSA is a voluntary, non-profit organization comprised of more than 460 public and private high schools that strives to promote good sportsmanship, participant safety, fair play and a cooperative spirit among its member schools. The GHSA administers regulations for region and state competition in 21 sports and three activities. For more information, visit www.ghsa.net.

Georgia EMC is the statewide trade association representing the state’s 41 EMCs, Oglethorpe Power Corp., Georgia Transmission Corp. and Georgia System Operations Corp. Collectively, Georgia’s customer-owned EMCs provide electricity and related services to 4.4 million people, nearly half of Georgia’s population, across 73 percent of the state’s land area. To learn more, visit www.georgiaemc.com and follow Georgia EMC on Facebook and Twitter.

Share this