2021-2022 Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Awards Sponsored by Georgia's EMCs Announced by the GHSA

Georgia’s Electric Membership Cooperatives (EMCs) proudly sponsor the Georgia High School Association (GHSA) Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award and today announce the 64 GHSA-member high schools that will receive this year’s award. The award honors schools that demonstrated impeccable sportsmanship during the 2021-2022 school year.

“Congratulations to all of the region winners of the GHSA Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award for 2021-2022,” says Dr. Robin Hines, GHSA executive director. “It is an honor for these member schools to be selected by their regions for this award. The characteristics of good sportsmanship are critical to the development of our young people as they transition into productive adults. The GHSA applauds our schools on this accomplishment and appreciates Georgia’s EMCs for their support of this outstanding recognition program.”

Since 2006, the GHSA and Georgia’s EMCs have sponsored the Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award which reinforces the GHSA philosophy: “Students, athletes, coaches, spectators and all others associated with high school activities programs should adhere to the fundamental values of respect, fairness, honesty and responsibility.” Schools winning this award are thus honored for displaying exemplary sportsmanship during competition throughout the school year.

Student athletes, fellow students, school staff, parents and event spectators are recognized for the sportsmanship they display. The award is not only a school honor, but a community honor as well. The GHSA region secretaries select winners based upon sportsmanship demonstrated throughout the school year.

Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Awards are presented annually to GHSA-member high schools, with a winner in each of the 64 regions from the eight classifications, by EMC representatives during fall athletic events and school assemblies.  Winners of the 2021-2022 GHSA Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award presented by Georgia’s EMCs are: 

Class AAAAAAA (7A)
Region 1 – Camden County High School
Region 2 – McEachern High School
Region 3 – Marietta High School
Region 4 – Newton High School
Region 5 – Roswell High School
Region 6 – Lambert High School
Region 7 – Duluth High School
Region 8 – Mill Creek High School

Class AAAAAA (6A)
Region 1 – Northside (Warner Robins) High School
Region 2 – Bradwell Institute
Region 3 – Rockdale County High School
Region 4 – Lakeside (DeKalb) High School
Region 5 – East Paulding High School
Region 6 – Wheeler High School
Region 7 – Cambridge High School
|Region 8 – Habersham Central High School

Class AAAAA (5A)
Region 1 – Warner Robins High School
Region 2 – Northgate High School
Region 3 – Woodward Academy
Region 4 – Woodland (Stockbridge) High School
Region 5 – Lithonia High School
Region 6 – Midtown High School
Region 7 – Hiram High School
Region 8 – Johnson (Gainesville) High School

Class AAAA (4A)
Region 1 – Dougherty High School
Region 2 – Shaw High School
Region 3 – Islands High School
Region 4 – West Laurens High School
Region 5 – Hampton High School
Region 6 – Arabia Mountain High School
Region 7 – Central (Carroll) High School
Region 8 – Flowery Branch High School

Class AAA (3A)
Region 1 – Long County High School
Region 2 – Sumter County High School
Region 3 – Savannah High School
Region 4 – Harlem High School
Region 5 – Douglass (Atlanta) High School
Region 6 – Coahulla Creek High School
Region 7 – East Forsyth High School
Region 8 – Stephens County High School

Class AA (2A)
Region 1 – Cook County High School
Region 2 – East Laurens High School
Region 3 – Bleckley County High School
Region 4 – Jefferson County High School
Region 5 – Haralson County High School
Region 6 – Kipp Atlanta Collegiate
Region 7 – Coosa High School
Region 8 – Elbert County High School

Class A Public
Region 1 – Calhoun County High School
Region 2 – Atkinson County High School
Region 3 – Screven County High School
Region 4 – Johnson County High School
Region 5 – Taylor County High School
Region 6 – Armuchee High School
Region 7 – Twiggs County High School
Region 8 – Lake Oconee Academy

Class A Private
Region 1 – Deerfield-Windsor School (Albany)
Region 2 – Our Lady of Mercy Catholic High School
Region 3 – Savannah Christian School
Region 4 – Brookstone School (Columbus)
Region 5 – Atlanta International School
Region 6 – Mount Pisgah Christian School
Region 7 – The Walker School (Marietta)
Region 8 – Loganville Christian Academy

The GHSA is a voluntary, non-profit organization comprised of more than 470 public and private high schools that strives to promote good sportsmanship, participant safety, fair play and a cooperative spirit among its member schools. The GHSA administers regulations for region and state competition in 18 sports and three activities. For more information, visit www.ghsa.net.

Georgia EMC is the statewide trade association representing the state’s 41 EMCs, Oglethorpe Power Corp., Georgia Transmission Corp. and Georgia System Operations Corp. Collectively, Georgia’s customer-owned EMCs provide electricity and related services to 4.4 million people, nearly half of Georgia’s population, across 73 percent of the state’s land area. To learn more, visit www.georgiaemc.com and follow Georgia EMC on Facebook and Twitter.


Share this