Congratulations to 2015-2016 GEMC Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award Winners

Georgia’s Electric Membership Cooperatives (Georgia’s EMCs) proudly sponsors the Georgia High School Association (GHSA) Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award and today announces the 48 GHSA-member high schools that will receive the 2016 award. The award honors schools that demonstrated exemplary sportsmanship during the 2015-2016 school year.

"The Georgia High School Association congratulates each of these region winners of the GEMC Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award for 2016," says Gary Phillips, GHSA Executive Director. “These member schools have been selected by their region's leadership for their efforts in the ongoing efforts promotion of good sportsmanship in all GHSA activities and competitions. Good sporting behavior is critical to the development of all young people. It is a cornerstone for productive adult citizens and fans. We thank Georgia's EMCs for their long time support of this program."

Since 2006, the GHSA and Georgia’s EMCs have sponsored the Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award, which reinforces the GHSA philosophy: “Students, athletes, coaches, spectators and all others associated with high school activities programs should adhere to the fundamental values of respect, fairness, honesty and responsibility.” Schools around the state are honored for exhibiting exceptional sportsmanship during competitive events.

Student athletes, fellow students, school staff, parents and event spectators are recognized for the sportsmanship they display. The award is not only a school honor, but a community honor as well. The GHSA region secretaries select winners based upon the sportsmanship demonstrated throughout the school year.

Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Awards are presented annually to the GHSA-member high schools in the 48 regions from the six classifications by representatives from the EMCs during fall athletic events and school assemblies.  Winners of the 2016 Georgia EMC Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award are: 


Region Winners:

Class 6-A
Region-1 - Lee County High School
Region-2 - Tucker High School
Region-3 - East Coweta High School
Region-4 - McEachern High School
Region-5 - Etowah High School
Region-6 - Habersham Central High School
Region-7 - Meadowcreek High School
Region-8 - Dacula High School

Class 5-A
Region-1 - Carver (Columbus) High School
Region-2 - Warner Robins High School
Region-3 - Bradwell Institute
Region-4 - Forest Park High School
Region-5 - Allatoona High School
Region-6 - Creekside High School
Region-7 - River Ridge High School
Region-8 - Flowery Branch High School

Class 4-A
Region-1 - Thomas County Central High School
Region-2 - Howard High School
Region-3 - Wayne County High School
Region-4 - Hampton High School
Region-5 - Troup High School
Region-6 - St. Pius X Catholic High School
Region-7 - LaFayette High School
Region-8 - Chestatee High School

Class 3-A
Region-1 - Jenkins High School
Region-2 - Jordan High School
Region-3 - Washington County High School
Region-4 - Westminster School
Region-5 - Haralson County High School
Region-6 - Ringgold High School
Region-7 - Lumpkin County High School
Region-8 - Morgan County High School

Class 2-A
Region-1 - Berriern High School
Region-2 - Bryan County High School
Region-3 - Screven County High School
Region-4 - Putnam County High School
Region-5 - Heard County High School
Region-6 - Holy Innocents’ Episcopal School
Region-7 - Chattooga High School
Region-8 - Washington-Wilkes High School

Class A
Region-1 - Pataula Charter Academy
Region-2 - Echols County High School
Region-3 - Jenkins County High School
Region-4 - St. Anne Pacelli High School
Region-5 - Strong Rock Christian School
Region-6 - Walker School
Region-7 - First Presbyterian Day School
Region-8 - Towns County High School

The Georgia High School Association (GHSA) is a voluntary, non-profit organization composed of over 450 public and private high schools.  The GHSA administers regulations for region and state competition in 16 sports and two activities.  Founded in 1904, the GHSA strives to promote good sportsmanship, participant safety and fair play among its member schools. For more information visit

Georgia EMC is the statewide trade association representing the state’s 41 EMCs, Oglethorpe Power Corp., Georgia Transmission Corp. and Georgia System Operations Corp. Collectively, Georgia’s customer-owned EMCs provide electricity and related services to 4.4 million people, nearly half of Georgia’s population, across 73 percent of the state’s land area.

Share this