Earl Etheridge Honored by the NFHS

INDIANAPOLIS, IN (January 27, 2022)Fifteen leaders in high school activity programs across the country have been selected to receive National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) Citations.

An award designed to honor individuals who have made contributions to the NFHS, state high school associations, athletic director and coaching professions, the officiating avocation and fine arts/performing arts programs, the NFHS Citation is one of the most highly regarded achievements in high school athletics and performing arts.

Among the winners is long-time GHSA State Executive Committee member Earl Etheridge of Savannah. Etheridge was athletic director and football and baseball coach at Windsor Forest High School in Savannah from 1967 to 1984, after beginning his coaching career at Savannah High School. In 1995, he began working with the City of Savannah and served in various capacities over the years. Etheridge served on the Georgia High School Association Executive Committee for 28 years and was tournament director for numerous GHSA state championships, including the football and basketball finals. Etheridge was one of the 2021 Citation recipients representing the NFHS professional organizations.

Citations for state high school associations, coaching, officiating and performing arts will be presented June 30 at the annual NFHS Summer Meeting in San Antonio, Texas. In addition to 2022 awards for all four groups, 2021 Citations for coaching, officiating and performing arts will be presented as well. 

Seven of the 15 award recipients represent NFHS-member state high school associations, seven represent NFHS professional organizations for officials, coaches, music leaders and speech/debate/theatre directors, and one individual represents both groups.

The eight 2022 state association Citation recipients are Bob Johnson, Section 1, associate executive director, Vermont Principals’ Association (VPA); Tom Dolan, Section 2, associate director, Virginia High School League (VHSL); Skip Lax, Section 3, retired associate commissioner, South Carolina High School League (SCHSL); Joan Gralla, Section 4, retired office manager, Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association (WIAA); Francine Martin, Section 5, assistant executive director, Kansas State High School Activities Association (KSHSAA); Don Brodell, Section 6, associate executive director, Arkansas Activities Association (AAA); Jay Beesemyer, Section 7, assistant director, Nevada Interscholastic Activities Association (NIAA); and Mark Beckman, Section 8, executive director, Montana High School Association (MHSA). 

The 2021 Citation recipients representing the NFHS professional organizations are Francine Martin, NFHS Officials Association, assistant executive director, Kansas State High School Activities Association (KSHSAA); Earl Etheridge, NFHS Coaches Association, retired coach and athletic director, Savannah, Georgia; Bill Webb, NFHS Music Association, retired band director, Edina High School, Edina, Minnesota; and Adam Jacobi, NFHS Speech/Debate/Theatre/Academics Association, executive director, Wisconsin High School Forensic Association, La Crosse, Wisconsin.

The 2022 Citation recipients representing the NFHS professional organizations are Philip DiDomenico, NFHS Officials Association, football, basketball and lacrosse official, Clark, New Jersey; Woody Barnett, NFHS Coaches Association, retired track/cross country coach and executive director of the Mississippi Athletic Administrators Association, Pearl, Mississippi; Darrin Davis, NFHS Music Association, director of bands/assistant director of fine arts, Broken Arrow Public Schools, Broken Arrow, Oklahoma; and Magda Irizarry-Mirelez, NFHS Speech/Debate/Theatre/Academics Association, speech, debate and theatre coach, Bay City High School, Bay City, Texas.           

            Online link to article: https://www.nfhs.org/articles/15-leaders-in-high-school-activity-programs-to-receive-nfhs-citations-1/

Share this