EMC Sportsmanship Award Winners Announced

Georgia’s Electric Membership Corporations (EMCs) proudly sponsor the Georgia High School Association (GHSA) Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award and today announce the 64 GHSA-member high schools that will receive this year’s award. The award honors schools that demonstrated impeccable sportsmanship during the 2023-2024 school year.

“Congratulations to all of the region winners of the GHSA Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award for 2023-24,” says Dr. Robin Hines, GHSA executive director. “It is an honor for these member schools to be selected by their regions for this award. The characteristics of good sportsmanship are critical to the development of our young people as they transition into productive adults. The GHSA applauds our schools on this accomplishment and appreciates Georgia’s EMCs for their support of this outstanding recognition program.”

Since 2006, the GHSA and Georgia’s EMCs have sponsored the Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award which reinforces the GHSA philosophy: “Students, athletes, coaches, spectators and all others associated with high school activities programs should adhere to the fundamental values of respect, fairness, honesty and responsibility.” Schools winning this award are thus honored for displaying exemplary sportsmanship during competition throughout the school year.

Student athletes, fellow students, school staff, parents and event spectators are recognized for the sportsmanship they display. The award is not only a school honor, but a community honor as well. The GHSA region secretaries select winners based upon sportsmanship demonstrated throughout the school year.

Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Awards are presented annually to GHSA-member high schools, with a winner in each of the 64 regions from the eight classifications, by EMC representatives during fall athletic events and school assemblies.  Winners of the 2023-24 GHSA Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award presented by Georgia’s EMCs are: 

2023-2024 Region Sportsmanship Winners

Class 7-A
Region-1: Richmond Hill High School
Region-2: Campbell High School
Region-3: Hillgrove High School
Region-4: Parkview High School
Region-5: Kennesaw Mountain High School
Region-6: Denmark High School
Region-7: Duluth High School
Region-8: Central Gwinnett High School

Class 6-A
Region-1: Veterans High School
Region-2: Grovetown High School
Region-3: Woodward Academy
Region-4: St. Pius X High School
Region-5: Langston Hughes High School
Region-6: Etowah High School
Region-7: Johns Creek High School
Region-8: Apalachee High School

Class 5-A
Region-1: Jenkins-Savannah High School
Region-2: Union Grove High School
Region-3: Charles Drew High School
Region-4: Decatur High School
Region-5: Maynard Jackson High School
Region-6: Centennial High School
Region-7: Dalton High School
Region-8: Eastside High School 

Class 4-A
Region-1: Bainbridge High School
Region-2: West Laurens High School
Region-3: Island High School
Region-4: Riverdale High School
Region-5: Luella High School
Region-6: Clarkston High School
Region-7: Southeast Whitfield High School
Region-8: Johnson-Gainesville High School

Class 3-A
Region-1: Thomasville High School
Region-2: Upson Lee High School
Region-3: Liberty County High School
Region-4: Hephzibah High School
Region-5: Sandy Creek High School
Region-6: Adairsville High School
Region-7: Dawson County High School
Region-8: Stephens County High School

Class 2-A
Region 1: Sumter County High School
Region-2: Southwest-Macon High School
Region-3: Windsor Forest High School
Region-4: Johnson-Augusta High School
Region-5: Towers High School
Region-6: Therrell High School
Region-7: Haralson County l High School
Region-8: Banks County High School 

Class A, Division 1
Region-1: Pelham High School
Region-2: Bleckley County High School
Region-3: Metter High School
Region-4: Crawford County High School
Region-5: Social Circle High School
Region-6: Whitfield Academy
Region-7: Trion High School
Region-8: Elbert County High School

Class A, Division 2
Region-1: Baconton Charter School
Region-2: Lanier County High School
Region-3: Portal High School
Region-4: Wilcox County High School
Region-5: Glascock County High School
Region-6: Marion County High School
Region-7: Christian Heritage
Region-8: Warren County High School

Share this