GEMC Sportsmanship Award Winners Announced

Georgia’s Electric Membership Cooperatives (EMCs) proudly sponsor the Georgia High School Association (GHSA) Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award and today announce the 64 GHSA-member high schools that will receive this year’s award. The award honors schools that demonstrated impeccable sportsmanship during the 2022-2023 school year.

“Congratulations to all of the region winners of the GHSA Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award for 2022-23,” says Dr. Robin Hines, GHSA executive director. “It is an honor for these member schools to be selected by their regions for this award. The characteristics of good sportsmanship are critical to the development of our young people as they transition into productive adults. The GHSA applauds our schools on this accomplishment and appreciates Georgia’s EMCs for their support of this outstanding recognition program.”

Since 2006, the GHSA and Georgia’s EMCs have sponsored the Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award which reinforces the GHSA philosophy: “Students, athletes, coaches, spectators and all others associated with high school activities programs should adhere to the fundamental values of respect, fairness, honesty and responsibility.” Schools winning this award are thus honored for displaying exemplary sportsmanship during competition throughout the school year.

Student athletes, fellow students, school staff, parents and event spectators are recognized for the sportsmanship they display. The award is not only a school honor, but a community honor as well. The GHSA region secretaries select winners based upon sportsmanship demonstrated throughout the school year.

Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Awards are presented annually to GHSA-member high schools, with a winner in each of the 64 regions from the eight classifications, by EMC representatives during fall athletic events and school assemblies.  Winners of the 2022-23 GHSA Cooperative Spirit Sportsmanship Award presented by Georgia’s EMCs are: 

2022-2023 Region Sportsmanship Winners

Class 7-A
Region-1: Colquitt County High School
Region-2: East Coweta High School
Region-3: Harrison High School
Region-4: South Gwinnett High School
Region-5: Walton High School
Region-6: Forsyth Central High School
Region-7: Duluth High School
Region-8: Dacula High School

Class 6-A
Region-1: Tift County High School
Region-2: South Effingham High School
Region-3: Woodward Academy
Region-4: North Atlanta High School
Region-5: Newnan High School
Region-6: Allatoona High School
Region-7: Blessed Trinity
Region-8: Apalachee High School

Class 5-A
Region-1: Bradwell Institute
Region-2: Warner Robins High School
Region-3: Drew High School
Region-4: Arabia Mountain High School
Region-5: Chapel Hill High School
Region-6: Northview High School
Region-7: Woodland-Bartow High School
Region-8: Clarke Central High School 

Class 4-A
Region-1: Bainbridge High School
Region-2: Perry High School
Region-3: Burke County High School
Region-4: Fayette County High School
Region-5: Hampton High School
Region-6: Druid Hills High School
Region-7: Southeast Whitfield High School
Region-8: Cedar Shoals High School

Class 3-A
Region-1: Crisp County High School
Region-2: Jackson High School
Region-3: Groves High School
Region-4: Cross Creek High School
Region-5: Sandy Creek High School
Region-6: Coahulla Creek High School
Region-7: Gilmer High School
Region-8: Hart County High School

Class 2-A
Region 1: Sumter County High School
Region-2: Jordan High School
Region-3: Tattnall County High School
Region-4: Johnson-Augusta High School
Region-5: McNair High School
Region-6: Coretta Scott King High School
Region-7: Gordon Central High School
Region-8: Union County High School 

Class A, Division 1
Region-1: Pelham High School
Region-2: Bleckley County High School
Region-3: Woodville-Tompkins High School
Region-4: Crawford County High School
Region-5: Jasper County High School
Region-6: Galloway School
Region-7: Dalton Academy
Region-8: Commerce High School

Class A, Division 2
Region-1: Southwest Georgia STEM School
Region-2: Charlton County High School
Region-3: Jenkins County High School
Region-4: Treutlen County High School
Region-5: Hancock Central High School
Region-6: Schley County High School
Region-7: Mt. Zion-Carroll High School
Region-8: Warren County High School

Share this