This is the first of 2018 season weekly softball umpire bulletins. We will cover issues pertinent to softball including, but not limited to, game issues, rule interpretations, etc. This issue will cover change in nomenclature concerning eye black and the three most frequently missed questions on the exam.
EYE SHADOW (formally eye black). It is now referred to eye shadow due to the fact in now comes in colors other than black. The player can use any single color as long as the same color in used under each eye and it is not reflective. It cannot contain glitter, etc. It must be one single line below and parallel to the eye.
Study guide question #67 was incorrectly answered 50% of the time. The question was: “When a fielder intentionally contacts or catches a fair thrown ball with any part of the uniform or equipment that is detached it is a delayed dead ball and the batter and all runners are awarded two bases from the time of the throw.” Rule 8-4-3e Penalty clearly shows that the answer is True. This was a thrown ball, not a batted ball. On a thrown ball, it is two (2) bases from the time of the throw.
Study guide question #62 was the second most missed question (33% missed). The question was: “When a fielder intentionally contacts or catches a fair ball with any part of the uniform or equipment that is detached from its proper place it is an immediate dead ball and the batter and all runners are awarded three bases from the time of the pitch.” Same rule as above (Rule 8-4-3e Penalty). The only difference from the question above is the phrase “immediate dead ball” which makes the answer False. It is a delayed dead ball.
Study guide question #80 was the third most missed question (30% missed). The question was: “Bases loaded, 2 out. B2 hits a home run. After B2 touches the plate, the defense appeals B2 missing 2nd base. The umpire declares B2 out. Three runs score.” This is covered by Rule 9-1-1. Because the third out was not the result of B2 missing First base it was not a force out but a timing play. All three runners scored before the appeal was made on B2, therefore all three runs count. The correct answer was True.